ISSAEF Scholarship Award Recipients

The ISSAEF is pleased to announce the following students have been selected to receive scholarships in the 2017 scholarship award process:

  • E. Eugene Schultz, Jr., Memorial Scholarship is awarded to Angela Sims-Ceja, University of Colorado (Denver)
  • Howard Schmidt Scholarship is awarded to Rebekah McKinley, Pennsylvania State University
  • Shon Harris Memorial Scholarship is awarded to Keith Russell, Capella University

The ISSA Alamo Chapter and ISSAEF are pleased to announce the following recipients for the Alamo Chapter scholarships:

  • Mitchell Moser ($1,500), University of Texas at San Antonio
  • Skylar Linn ($500), Hallmark University

Congratulations to all of the scholarship recipients. And thank you to all those who applied.

ISSA Scholastic Writing Award

The ISSAEF has partnered with the ISSA in the presentation of a Scholastic Writing Award for best student article. The ISSA Editorial Advisory Board for the Information Systems Security Association International’s (ISSA) Journal has invited current university students to submit information security articles for publication. The best article will receive the ISSA Journal Scholastic Award. The Board will accept articles until October 1, 2017. Details are located on the ISSA web site at this location.

ISSAEF Mourns the Death of Howard A. Schmidt

It was with great sorrow that ISSA and the ISSAEF noted the loss of our beloved colleague and friend, Howard A. Schmidt. He was a long-time supporter of the ISSAEF and a friend to many of us on the Board, so we were pleased to name one of our scholarships in his honor in 2016, while he was still alive. We encourage you to continue his legacy by contributing to his scholarship through the Donate page.

ISSAEF Scholarship Application Period Opens 3/1

ISSAEF announces the opening of its 2017 scholarship application period. On March 1, 2017 the Foundation will begin receiving applications for the following scholarships:

  • ISSAEF E. Eugene Schultz, Jr., Memorial Scholarship ($3,500)
  • ISSAEF Howard A. Schmidt Scholarship ($3,500)
  • ISSAEF Shon Harris Memorial Scholarship ($2,000)
  • ISSA Alamo Chapter Scholarship (1,500)
  • ISSA Alamo Chapter Scholarship ($500)

Alll scholarship application deadlines are July 15, 2017. See the details on theActive Scholarship page.

Scroll to Top